The Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy is open to all local authorities democratically constituted with/by elected representatives, whatever their size and whatever the stage of implementation of their energy and climate policies.

Neighbouring small and medium-sized local authorities can also, under certain conditions, decide to join as a group of signatories.

The commitments for Covenant signatories are linked to the EU's climate and energy policy framework: the 2020 climate and energy package for signatories who have joined between 2008 and 2015 and the 2030 climate and energy framework as well as the EU Strategy on Adaptation to Climate Change for signatories joining after 2015.

Covenant signatories commit to adopting an integrated approach to climate change mitigation and adaptation. They are required to develop, within the first two years of adhesion, a Sustainable Energy and Climate Action Plan with the aims of cutting CO2 emissions by at least 40% by 2030 and increasing resilience to climate change.

Join as a Signatory


11051 Results found


Signatories Population Commitments Status Adhesion date
Athienou, CY 7000 2021
Acquapendente, IT 5353 2021
VILLA DE MAZO, ES 4873 2021
Commune de Crisnée, BE 3511 2021
Perth and Kinross Council, GB 151910 2021
Foglizzo, IT 2280 2021
Primăria Tecuci, RO 34871 2021
Staden, BE 11457 2021
Dentergem, BE 8634 2021
Linkebeek, BE 4739 2021
Heuvelland, BE 7889 2021
Houthulst, BE 10214 2021
FOČA FBIH, BA 1933 2021
Chippenham, GB 45000 2021
BEJÍS, ES 382 2021
Holsbeek, BE 10062 2021
Zonnebeke, BE 12498 2021
Traiguera, ES 1385 2021
Incourt, BE 5589 2021
Ledegem, BE 9718 2021
Balıkesir, TR 1240285 2021
Ankara, TR 5663322 2021
gemeente Winterswijk, NL 29022 2021
Vilar de Santos, ES 794 2021